Executive Committee



Paul Dillon, President– Paul is a next of kin member of the current Commander of the St. Louis Chapter, American Ex-Prisoners of War. He is the son of a former Prisoner of War, his father a B-17 ball turret gunner shot down over Germany during World War II and a POW for a year and eight months in Stalag 17-B. Paul is a graduate of the University of Arkansas at Little Rock and an Army veteran who was assigned to the JFK Special Forces Center for Military Assistance, Fort Bragg,  North Carolina.

Art Schuermann, Vice-President – Art is a retired Major from the Missouri Air National Guard and a veteran of Operation Enduring Freedom. Art has served in one roll or another at Jefferson Barracks since 1982. He last served the Air National Guard as the Historic Preservations Officer for the Jefferson Barracks Air National Guard Station. He is a historian, a writer, and has a Masters Degree from St. Louis University. He co-authored the book, “Jefferson Barracks” with Sandie Grassino. Art is the President of the Jefferson Barracks Community Council, a member of the Executive Board of the South St. Louis County Chamber of Commerce, and a member of the Executive Board of the Jefferson Barracks Heritage Foundation.

Richard Heigert, Secretary – Richard is a graduate of Southern Illinois University – Edwardsville, and of the US Army Command and General Staff College. He entered the U.S. Army in 1966 serving as an officer in the Army Corps of Engineers, remaining active in the Army Reserve until 1994, retiring as a Colonel in the Military Intelligence branch. He joined the American Legion in 1981 and has served as Post Commander, District Commander and Missouri Department Commander. Among the many positions Richard has held, he is currently the American Legion National Executive Committeeman for Missouri, as well as the National Legislative Council Liaison for Senator Claire McCaskill. Richard is also the current Legislative Chairman of the Missouri Association of Veterans Organizations.

Ken Kennedy, Jr., Treasurer – Born in St. Louis, MO, he is the son of two WWII veterans. His father served as a gunner on a B-27 in the Pacific, and his mother was a Navy nurse who was also a Disabled Veteran.  Ken graduated from High School in 1966 and attended one year at a Community College before enlisting in the U.S. Navy.  He served four years attaining the rate of Petty Officer, Engineman Second Class.  A Vietnam veteran, he served three tours in and around Vietnam.  During which time he would be assigned to Swift Boats.  He was awarded the Vietnam Service Medal with two Bronze Stars, and the Vietnam Campaign Medal with one Bronze Star.  An AMVET since 2002, he has also been a member of the American Legion since 2006.  He is a Life Member of both organizations.  Ken has worked as an AMVET Judge Advocate, and is also Post Adjutant for both the AMVETS and the American Legion.  He serves on the Missouri AMVET POW-MIA Committee as Finance Officer, and is the AMVET Ninth District Second Vice-Commander.


Board of Directors

Gloria Barnes – Missouri American Legion

Dale Gaebler – Missouri Amvets

Wanda Gaebler – Missouri Amvets Ladies Auxiliary

Ray Ruetsch – American Ex-Prisoners of War

Doug Meyer – Missouri Veterans Commision

Ralph Pismany – Missouri Veterans Commision

John “Jack” Poitras – Missouri Veterans of Foreign Wars

Tom Mundell – Missouri Veterans of Foreign Wars

Sandy Findeiss – Misouri American Legion Auxiliary

Stephanie Roesslein– Missouri American Legion Auxiliary

Mike Brown – Vietnam Veterans of America

Russ Whitener – Vietnam Veterans of America

Linda Stidham – Missouri Veterans of Foreign Wars Auxiliary

Bill Kiefer – Marine Corps League

Sydney Staton – Military Order of the Purple Heart

Andrew Day – Military Order of the Purple Heart

Terrie Hobson – American Gold Star Mother

Kathy Kennedy – AMVET Auxiliary



Advisory Board 

Russ Carnahan – Former U.S. Congressman

Stuart Symington, Jr.

General Cassie Strom – Missouri Air National Guard

Colonel John Clark – USAF Retired

Kathy Waltz – Former Outreach Coordinator, Congressman Russ Carnahan

Harry Hope – St. Louis Honor Flights

Bill Florich – Jefferson Barracks Heritage Foundation

John Comerford – Former Board Member, Missouri Veterans Commission

Joe Grohs – Honorary Advisory Board Member